Our Team

Restore Hope, Renew Lives

South Lane Mental Health is governed by a volunteer board of directors, which includes positions for a client and a liaison to the First Presbyterian Church. The Board meets once per month. Board members also serve on operating committees and meet as necessary.

Board Members


Leadership Team

Directors (alphabetized by first name)

Traducir al Español»

Jim Harrison joined the South Lane Mental Health Board of Directors shortly after retiring from a 30-year career in family medicine in 2014.

Jim was raised in California, and moved to Wisconsin to attend the Medical College of Wisconsin. Upon graduation, he and his wife, Lauren Fuller (also a physician), worked in a rural community health center for 18 years. The non-profit health center, in a Wisconsin town of 500 people, provided urgent care as well as comprehensive family medicine and was able to serve all area residents regardless of their ability to pay or insurance status. Because of the size of the health center, Jim took on a role that combined patient care with administrative responsibilities. Eventually he led an organization of clinicians from 100 similar health centers in the Midwest.

In 2002, Jim and Lauren relocated to Cottage Grove, where Jim joined PeaceHealth. At PeaceHealth Cottage Grove, Jim maintained a family medicine practice and also assumed some administrative roles including as the local Medical Director. He also assisted in companywide efforts in quality, safety, process improvement, patient portal development and medical group redesign.

Through his work, Jim became acquainted with South Lane Mental Health. From the start, he was impressed by the vision, compassion, scope, and quality of South Lane Mental Health. The community-based, service-oriented nature of the non-profit mental health organization was attractive and reminiscent of his Wisconsin days.

Jim has always had as a goal to help improve community health. So when a chance to join the South Lane Mental Health Board appeared in 2014, Jim readily accepted the offer. “South Lane Mental Health’s vision is to optimize mental health through advocacy, education, service, compassion and support,” he said. “It is such a fundamental element to our community’s healthy future that serving together with the team to make it a reality is the chance of a lifetime.”

In addition to serving on the South Lane Mental Health Board of Directors, Jim also serves on the board for the Cottage Grove Community Foundation and volunteers with the BLM and Forest Service. He enjoys gardening with his wife, hiking, traveling, spending time with extended family, and virtually anything involving a bicycle.

William H. (Bill) Trotter is a Certified Public Accountant who has been on the South Lane Mental Health Board of Directors for over 20 years.

He has specialized in consulting and reimbursement for mental health agencies in California, Washington, and Oregon. He is currently a partner in Emerald CPA Group LLP performing audits for non-profit and governmental agencies as well as tax work for individuals and businesses.

Bill holds an MBA from Columbia University and a PhD from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. In his first career, he taught history of art at Grinnell College and the University of Oregon.

Rob Dickinson joined the South Lane Mental Health Board of Directors in October of 2014.

Rob holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Computer Science from the University of California at Berkeley, and spent 16 years working in the high technology sector in Silicon Valley before transitioning to nonprofit work and community volunteering. He worked on a wide variety of commercial software products and Internet applications at both large and small companies, including 3Com, Apple Computer, Taligent, Perspecta, Novation Biosciences, and others.

Rob subsequently worked at a number of nonprofit organizations in the field of electoral reform, including roles as a consultant, employee, and volunteer at various organizations such as Californians for Electoral Reform, the New America Foundation, FairVote, and National Popular Vote. The highlight of this work was drafting a number of bills to improve California’s voting methods and facilitating their introduction in the California legislature and working to move them through the legislative process.

As a member and Vice Chair of Redwood City’s Housing and Human Concerns Committee, Rob was exposed to the complex challenges facing those with mental health issues and the critical need to have well designed and complementary service offerings to improve their quality of life.

After moving to Cottage Grove in 2010, Rob has become involved with a number of local nonprofits focused on building community and social capital in and around Cottage Grove, including Sustainable Cottage Grove, Another Way Enterprises, and others.

“I am proud to be involved with South Lane Mental Health, as this organization provides essential services that make a huge difference in the lives of our clients. It is a mature, well-run organization that is constantly looking for better ways to deliver these services and to increase its positive impacts in the community”.

Cottage Grove - Main Office

1345 Birch Ave
Cottage Grove, OR 97424
M – W & F 8am – 5pm
Thurs 8am – 6pm
Fax: 541-942-9310

Bohemia Residential Center (Adult Foster Home)

1115 W Main Street
Cottage Grove, OR 97424

Downtown Building

37 N 6th St
Cottage Grove, OR 97424

East Building

1245 Birch Ave
Cottage Grove, OR 97424

Island Park

288 Mill Street
Springfield, OR 97477

Recovery Center

75 S 5th St.
Cottage Grove, OR 97424
Fax: 541-649-1697

This is the notification area